- Courts / Judicial
- Superior Court
The mission of the Superior Court of Arizona in Graham County is to provide the citizens of Graham County an impartial forum to fairly, expeditiously and economically resolve disputes.
Nothing contained on this website should be construed or interpreted as legal advice. Please contact legal counsel of your choosing to discuss your legal rights. Please view this list of attorneys (PDF) practicing locally in Graham County.
The Superior Court of Arizona in Graham County handles the following types of cases:
The legal name for a divorce is Dissolution of Marriage. The amount of time that it takes to get a divorce can vary from case to case. State laws require that you wait 60 days from the date of service before you can finalize the divorce.
- Legal Separation
In Arizona a legal separation does not end your marriage. A legal separation usually divides marital property and debts. Community property rights usually terminate in a legal separation case. Legal Decision Making, parenting time and support of children are also usually determined.
- Legal Decision Making (Formerly Child Custody) & Parenting Time
- Establish First Court Orders * Modify Existing Court Orders * Enforce Existing Court Orders
- To establish Legal Decision Making, parenting time and child support you must be the natural or adoptive parent of the minor child(ren). Paternity must have already been established. The minor child(ren) must have resided in Arizona at least 6 months (or since birth if younger than 6 months) before you file the petition. You are seeking a court order concerning your minor child(ren) declaring their primary residence, who has authority to make legal decisions, time each parent is to have with the child(ren), and child support.
- Child Support
You are seeking a court order to establish child support and do not need or already have an order establishing Legal Decision Making and/or parenting time. You must be the natural or adoptive parent, the legal guardian or have a court order awarding you Legal Decision Making of the child(ren).
- A civil case filed in the Superior Court involves an amount in controversy of more than $10,000.
- The superior court also handles civil name changes of both minors, adults and families.
- Guardianship of an Adult
You are seeking to have the court appoint you as guardian for an incapacitated adult. The person who needs a guardian must live in Graham County. A doctor will say that the incapacitated person needs a guardian. You know that the court does not need to also (or instead) appoint a conservator to handle the finances of the incapacitated adult.
- Conservatorship of an Adult
You are seeking to have the court appoint you as conservatorship for an incapacitated adult. The person who needs a conservator must live in Graham County. You know that the court does not need to also (or instead) appoint a guardian for the incapacitated adult.
- Guardianship of a Minor
A minor needs a guardian when the care and supervision of an adult is not presently available. You want to have the court appoint you as guardian for a person under the age of 18 and the minor lives in or owns property in Graham County. The parents will either sign a voluntary consent or, after receiving notice of the Petition to Appointment a Guardian will not file papers or come to court to object to the appointment.
- Conservatorship of a Minor
A minor needs a conservator when the minor owns money or property in excess of $5,000 that requires management or protection, has assets or business affairs which may be jeopardized by his or her being a minor, and/or the minor needs funds for his or her support and education and protection is necessary or desirable to obtain or provide the funds. You want to have the court appoint you as conservator for a person under the age of 18 and the minor lives in or owns property in Graham County. You are the parents or the parents will sign a voluntary consent or, after receiving notice of the Petition to Appointment a Conservator will not file papers or come to court to object to the appointment.
- Formal or Informal Probate
Appointment of Personal Representation and Admission of Will (if Applicable). You want the court to appoint you as the Personal Representative of the estate. You are related to the person who died or you have a legal interest in the person’s property. The person died more than 120 hours ago, but less than 2 years ago.
Adoptions are handled by our Graham County Attorney. Please call 928-428-3620 for more information.
If you are in immediate danger call 911.
Protection orders are civil court orders that prohibit a specific person from making contact with you such as coming near your home, work site, school or other locations. A protective order is effective for 12 months from the date of service. A protective order also provides you with legal recourse if the person served with a protective order violates the order.
View more information on the Mt. Graham Safe House Inc (PDF).: Crisis Hotline and Safe Facility staffed 24 hours a day 7 days a week.
View a list of our criminal court forms.